Saturday, June 16, 2012

Monday, June 11, 2012

Saturday, June 09, 2012

Muddy Waters: You Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had

For the weekend, a guilty pleasure.

Sage words from a great philosopher. . .

Thursday, June 07, 2012

Monday, June 04, 2012

Saturday, June 02, 2012

Zaz: La Pluie

For the weekend, a guilty pleasure.

Spare a moment to enjoy this chanson (les paroles y compris | lyrics included). . .

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Eye | Land | View


Thursday, late afternoon.

The harbour of a little island in the South China Sea is very full. Why so?

Locally-based fishing vessels have returned to port as there is now a two-month ban on fishing.

Some of the local boats will never sail again. A law comes into force at the end of the year banning all trawl fishing in Hong Kong waters. Trawl fishing is when a boat drags a net though the water. So far, so good. But when fishing in shallow waters, the net scrapes along the seabed. That's really destructive. The result is carnage.

It is to be noted that the mainland Chinese government already prohibits trawling all year round in its territorial waters of less than 40 metres (132 feet) and extends this ban with a May to August moratorium on all trawling, purse-seining and stake-netting activities.

Hereabouts, Hong Kong Government has put in place a number of measures to compensate soon-to-be ex-trawler owners and crews. And thanks to its buy-back scheme, the local authorities plan to sink some of the newly acquired trawlers to create artificial reefs.

Beach Boys: Sail on Sailor

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Kate Rusby: Who Will Sing Me Lullabies

For the weekend, a guilty pleasure.

 Just beautiful. . .

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Eye | Land | View


Drama on a little island in the South China Sea (part 2)

Yesterday's film shoot

[Sadly, I have never learned to read Chinese so I have no clue about what the banners say. Still, it looks "political" to me. But it probably has nothing to do with the telegram sent on 17 May 1968 to the POLITBURO OF THE CHINESE COMMUNIST PARTY GATE OF CELESTIAL PEACE PEKING]

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Eye | Land | View


Drama on a little island in the South China Sea

Local terrestrial broadcaster TVB filming on location. There's the film crew, ancillary others, assorted Canto actors, and a dozen or so crowd extras (age 18-25) including one European blonde . . .

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Monday, May 21, 2012

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Stromae: Alors on danse

For the weekend, a guilty pleasure.

As an antidote to the weekend's wet weather, here's some Belgian/Rwandan electro dance music (with French/English lyrics) . . .

Thursday, May 17, 2012